Situated between Il Dosso di Lavedo and the Comacine Island, Villa Balbiano is one of the most important historical palaces on the shores of Lake Como.
The history of Villa Balbiano can be traced back to mid 16th century and is strongly linked to the noble Giovio family who used it as their residence.
At the end of 16th century, the villa was sold to Cardinal Tolomeo Gallio, who redesigned the original palazzo after the drawings of Pellegrino Tibaldi. A century later, in 1787, Cardinal Angelo Maria Durini, politician and patron of the arts, acquired the Villa. Enlarged and embellished, the Villa was used to host a gallant and frivolous society where festivals, banquets and dances followed one by another relentlessly.
Villa Balbiano has recently been renovated by the famous French designer Jacques Garcia.
Occupying over 2ha, it remains one of largest properties around Lake Como. Villa also boasts the important historical details such as spectacular 17th century frescoes by the Recchi Brothers and Agostino Silva.
Villa offers the accommodation in its six luxury suites in the main palace, four additional bedrooms in the left wing and five bedrooms in the adjacent Villino.
Villa Balbiano is also an ideal venue for any kind of events, weddings and seminars.